6 tips to keep dogs safe in the snow

DSC_0166We are in the midst of Winter and my goodness it is cold on the paws! With the impending forecast of snow on the way, here is my dog advice for having fun and staying safe during a winter flurry.

Ruby’s top snow safety tips

  1. Never leave a dog in a cold car. This goes whether it is hot or cold.
  2. Keep a collar and ID tag on your dog at all times. Make sure your dog is micro-chipped and your contact details are up to date. From April 2016 it will be compulsory for all dogs in England to be micro-chipped.
  3. Watch out for yellow snow – chances are I made it!
  4. Ensure Antifreeze is kept out of reach – us dogs love the taste of it, but it is highly poisonous.
  5. Stay away from ponds and lakes that have frozen over. Thin ice may break under a dog’s weight.
  6. Have fun! I can’t make snowballs, but that does not stop me from shaking snow off my coat over the humans. They love it really!

I would love to hear what you think about my blog – leave me a comment on the blog, like me on facebook follow me on bloglovin’ or twoof me @rubys_rambles on Twitter.

Stay safe and have fun!

*waggy tail*

Ruby Dog x

Leave a Reply

